Legal Drinking Age
- In Pennsylvania as in every other U.S. state, you must be 21 years or older to drink alcohol legally.
Open Container Laws
- Open bottles of alcohol cannot be anywhere in an automobile where the driver or passenger can have access to them. If you're driving or riding in a car, place any open bottles of alcohol in the trunk.
- If a driver's blood alcohol content (BAC) is found to be .08 percent or higher, the driver will be arrested and charged with driving under the influence (DUI). BAC levels higher than .10 percent result in harsher penalties, including jail time and a larger fine.
- A DUI conviction in Pennsylvania results in a mandatory one-year suspension of the driver's license. Upon a second conviction, a judge may order that an ignition interlock device be attached to the offender's vehicle.