questionstoday.com
Browsing Category

DUI & DWI Law : Law & Legal & Attorney

Kansas Felony DUI Laws

Overview of a felony DUI in Kansaspolice sign image by Vladislav Gajic from Fotolia.comThe state of Kansas charges a person with felony DUI if she has two prior convictions for driving under the influence. Kansas imposes a variety of sanctions on a driver who is charged with and convicted......More...

Commonwealth of Pennsylvania DUI Law

Like many states, driving under the influence in Pennsylvania is a serious offense. It is important you understand how the law operates in Pennsylvania so you don't get a DUI, and what to do if you are caught driving under the influence....More...

Animal Laws in Anoka County, Minnesota

Anoka County is located in the Twin Cities metropolitan region of Minnesota. The Animal Humane Society and private animal control firms are used to provide many of Anoka County's animal-related services. The city of Anoka has also outlined the specifics of pet owner responsibilities as well as illeg...More...

How to Get Into the Military With a Felony Drunk Driving Record

The United States army, navy, air force and marines want recruits who exhibit not only physical and mental prowess but also integrity and morality. Being convicted of a felony does lower your chances of being accepted to the United States military, but it does not absolutely disqualify you; much dep...More...

Nebraska DUI Penalties

Drinking and driving can lead to being arrested for DUI.green bottle image by javarman from Fotolia.comDriving under the influence (DUI) is a charge applied to any driver who, when pulled over by a police officer, is found to have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) greater than the legal......More...

What Is a Class-C Felony?

When a crime is committed it can fall into one of two categories based on the severity of the crime. For minor offenses, the crimes are classified as misdemeanors, which can result in maximum sentences of less than one year. Crimes carrying a stiffer penalty of more than one year are called felonies...More...

West Virginia CDL and DUI Laws

Commercial drivers are considered in violation of a DUI in West Virginia with a BAC level of .04 percent.line of trucks 1 image by Aaron Kohr from Fotolia.comIn the state of West Virginia, a driver with a CDL, or commercial driver's license, must follow strict guidelines when it comes to......More...

Kansas Diversion Agreements

In Kansas, someone charged with a crime can enter into a diversion agreement rather than go to trial. In this agreement, a defendant stipulates (in effect, admits) to the charge and agrees to certain conditions in exchange for not going to trial and possibly being convicted....More...

DUI Consequences in South Carolina

In 2008, 50 percent of South Carolina traffic fatalities were alcohol related.beer image by Einar Bog from Fotolia.comUnder South Carolina law, a person is guilty of driving under the influence (DUI) if he drives a motor vehicle while impaired as a result of alcohol or drug consumption.......More...

DUI Laws in Idaho

Drinking that leads to driving can lead to jail.martini drink image by Jarek Miarka from Fotolia.comDriving under the influence in Idaho is considered a serious crime with life-altering repercussions. As of 2008 in the United States, someone is killed by a drunken driver every 45 minutes,......More...

DUI Penalties for Hennepin County, Minnesota

Drivers in Minnesota face stiff penalties for driving under the influence of alcohol.fiole de whisky image by Jerome Dancette from Fotolia.comMinnesota is known for its strict DUI laws and penalties. Each DUI conviction brings two separate cases, a criminal case and a Minnesota Department......More...

Virginia State Laws for Drunk Driving

Virginia takes a hard stance on drinking and driving.to drunk to drive image by Marjan Veljanoski from Fotolia.comLike most states, Virginia takes a hard, well defined stance against driving under the influence (DUI). In 2008 there were over 11,000 alcohol-related crashes resulting in......More...

How to Beat a DUI in Ohio

Driving under the influence of intoxicants is a criminal charge with serious consequences if you are convicted. In Ohio these consequences include up to six months of jail time for a first offense. However the Ohio legal system, like other jurisdictions, is full of possible escape hatches. Some of t...More...

About Driving While Under the Influence of Alcohol

There are many names for it: driving under the influence, driving while intoxicated, drunk driving, buzzed driving, drinking and driving. No matter what it's called, though, it's a bad idea and something that can have terrible consequences for both the drunk driver and those on the road around them...More...

Connecticut Statute of Limitations for Prosecuting a DUI Case

Connecticut, like all other states, has enacted statute of limitations for all criminal offenses. As such, anyone that has committed the crime of driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs (DUI) must be prosecuted within the statute of limitations' time frame....More...

Pennsylvania DUI Mandatory Sentencing Laws

Pennsylvania has mandatory sentencing laws for drivers convicted of a DUI.Bottle with beer beer on a white reflecting surface image by Alexander Oshvintsev from Fotolia.comDriving Under the Influence (DUI) in Pennsylvania has mandatory sentencing if convicted. There are several different......More...

The State of Maine's DUI Laws

A DUI in the state of Maine is referred to as an OUI in the legal system. If you are found guilty of operating under the influence (OUI) by the arresting police officer in Maine, your license is immediately suspended by the Secretary of State until your scheduled court date and will......More...

California DUI Programs

Drivers charged with DUI in California will have to attend a program.to drunk to drive image by Marjan Veljanoski from Fotolia.comDrinking and driving is not only a serious crime but can result in deadly consequences. California has made alcohol and substance abuse classes mandatory for......More...

The Difference Between DWI & DUI in South Carolina

In South Carolina, two types of charges can be levied against drunk drivers. Drivers caught drunk behind the wheel can be charged with either driving under the influence (DUI) or driving while intoxicated (DWI), depending on their blood alcohol level. DUIs and DWIs share many similarities, but their...More...

How to Report a DUI to CDLIS

According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, in 2009 10,839 people in the U.S. died in crashes involving alcohol. Drinking while driving can cause serious damage, especially when it is done by an 18-wheel truck driver. The licensing agency for interstate truck drivers, CDLIS, tak...More...